ericsson.com
Your location is listed as Global
Login

A different summer reading list – personal development

Road near beach

You might have seen the Summer Tech Reading list compiled by my colleague, Christine Luby. For everything related to tech, that's the list you don't want to miss. But beyond the fascinating world of tech, you might ask, "What about my personal development?"

Even if you are not based in the northern hemisphere, many of you are probably looking forward to a holiday; the perfect time to relax, recharge your batteries, and maybe pick up a good book or two. But if you are anything like me, this might also be the time of year when you take stock of where you are in terms of your personal and/or professional development. Maybe you are up for a promotion, maybe you are looking to broaden your skills, or maybe you are just following up on your New Year's resolution. Whatever it may be, look no further than here for a list from a few of our #TeamEricsson members of some relevant reading recommendations. Who knows, maybe you'll find the perfect read for that spot on the beach!

 

The Open Organization : Igniting Passion and Performance by Jim Whitehurst

Today's leaders know that speed and agility are the keys to any company's success, and yet many are frustrated that their organizations can't move fast enough to stay competitive. The typical chain of command is too slow; internal resources are too limited; people are already executing beyond normal expectations. As the pace accelerates, how do you inspire people's energy and creativity?

The Open Organization  Igniting Passion and Performance by Jim Whitehurst


Naked Sales: How Design Thinking Reveals Customer Motives and Drives Revenue by Ashley Welch and Justin Jones

You've worked hard to make your sales operation a success, and you've achieved results. But in an age of ever-changing technologies and increasing customer demands, if you're selling like you always have, you're leaving deals on the table-and reducing potential. You can reinvigorate your sales organization, create new opportunities, and build competition-proof customer relationships when you start thinking like a designer. Design Thinking is a customer-centric innovation process that transforms the way one sells, whether it's an inside sales team or a group of field reps with multimillion-dollar portfolios.

I'm already an avid user of Design Thinking and use it as a key ingredient in the work we are doing and the quest we are on in terms of enhancing and improving our people and work experience throughout the organization. A great read!

Naked Sales How Design Thinking Reveals Customer Motives and Drives Revenue by Ashley Welch  and Justin Jones


Recommendations by Sophia Boleckis, Head of People Experience and Employer Brand

 

The Power of Full Engagement: Managing Energy, Not Time, is the Key to High Performance and Personal Renewal by Jim Loehr and Tony Schwartz

We live in a digital time. Our pace is rushed, rapid, and relentless. Facing crushing workloads, we try to cram as much as possible into every day. We're wired up, but we're melting down, and time management is no longer a viable solution. As bestselling authors Jim Loehr and Tony Schwartz demonstrate in this groundbreaking book, managing energy, not time, is the key to ensuring high performance as well as health, happiness, and a balanced life.

The Power of Full Engagement Managing Energy, Not Time, is the Key to High Performance and Personal Renewal by Jim Loehr and Tony Schwartz


Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari

How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights – or even trust in money, books, and laws? Why do we allow ourselves to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? What will our world look like in the millennia to come? All questions regarding our complex human journey tackled in this page-turning work by Yuval Noah Harari.

Sapiens A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari


Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

In the international bestseller Thinking, Fast and Slow, Daniel Kahneman, the renowned psychologist and winner of the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, takes us on a groundbreaking tour of the mind and explains the two systems that drive the way we think. "System 1" is fast, intuitive, and emotional, while "System 2" is slower, more deliberative, and more logical. The impact of overconfidence in corporate strategies, the difficulties of predicting what will make us happy in the future, the profound effect of cognitive biases on everything from playing the stock market to planning our next vacation – all of these are examined in the light of how the two systems shape our judgments and decisions.

Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman


Recommendations by Kalyana Chakravarthy Bedhu, Head of AI and Data Innovation

 

How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

You can go after the job you want... and get it! You can take the job you have... and improve it! You can take any situation you're in... and make it work for you!

How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie


Atomic Habits: An Easy and Proven Way to Build Good Habits and Break Bad Ones by entrepreneur and author James Clear 

Or just about any of his articles, which focus on themes related to productivity, creativity, motivation, goal-setting, and more great things relevant for the modern workplace.

Atomic Habits An Easy and Proven Way to Build Good Habits and Break Bad Ones by entrepreneur and author James Clear


Recommendations by Matthew Renta, Internal Communications Specialist

 

Designing your Life by Bill Burnett and Dave Evans

Designing your Life is an interesting read chock-full of tips on how to think when applying for a new job and how to align your personal goals with your career goals – something that might be quite useful to reflect on for those in similar positions.

Designing your Life by Bill Burnett and Dave Evans


Recommendation by Miurel Tercero, Research Manager

 

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness by Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein

From Nobel Prize winner Richard H. Thaler and American legal scholar Cass R. Sunstein comes a revelatory look at how we make decisions. Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness is a surefire delight for fans of Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and Daniel Kahneman's Thinking, Fast and Slow.

Nudge Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness by Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein


Originals: How Non-Conformists Move the World by Adam M. Grant

From the author of Give and Take and co-author of Option B comes the #1 New York Times Best Seller that examines how people can champion new ideas and how leaders can fight groupthink.

Originals How Non-Conformists Move the World by Adam M. Grant


Recommendations by Ida Sorlie, Business Development Manager

Or maybe you're looking for something a bit more product related? If so, check out these ideas:

 

Inspired: How to Create Products Customers Love by Marty Cagan

Why do some products make the leap to greatness while others don't? Creating inspiring products begins with discovering a product that is valuable, usable, and feasible. If you can't do this, then it's not worth building anything.

How to Create Products Customers Love by Marty Cagan


Never Split the Difference: Negotiating as if Your Life Depended on it by Chris Voss

A former international hostage negotiator for the FBI offers a new, field-tested approach to high-stakes negotiations – whether in the boardroom or at home.

Never Split the Difference Negotiating as if Your Life Depended on it by Chris Voss


Recommendations by Zoran Kalvaresin, Solution Developer

 

Weapons of Math Destruction by Cathy O´Neill

Weapons of Math Destruction is a 2016 American book about the societal impact of algorithms, written by Cathy O'Neil. It explores how some big data algorithms are increasingly used in ways that reinforce preexisting inequality.

Recommendation by Jasmina Hübinette, Head of Employer Brand Marketing

 

Crucial Conversations - Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, Ron McMillan and Al Switzler.

The first edition of Crucial Conversations exploded onto the scene and revolutionized the way millions of people communicate when stakes are high. This new edition gives you the tools to: Prepare for high-stakes situation, Make it safe to talk about almost anything, Be persuasive, not abrasive and more.

Crucial Conversations - Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, Ron McMillan and Al Switzler.


Recommendation by Eva Månsson, Head of Functional Internal Comms

 

And lastly, a tip from myself, one that is especially good if you are short on time and aren't quite ready to pick up a full-length book yet: check out the weekly Diversity & Inclusion news roundup, collated by our own Caroline Berns, Head of Talent Acquisition for Ericsson Middle East and Africa.

Have a great holiday, summer, or winter break!

We are hiring! We'll help you design your future. You'll help us design the worlds. Are you in? Check out ericsson.com/careers.


ABOUT THE CONTRIBUTOR
The Ericsson blog

In a world that is increasingly complex, we are on a quest for easy. At the Ericsson blog, we provide insight, news and opinion to help make complex ideas on technology, business and innovation simple. If you want to hear from us directly, please head over to our contact page.

Contact us